

# CITY OF CHICAGO

#### MICHELLE A. HARRIS, ALDERMAN, 8TH WARD CHAIRMAN-COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES AND RULES CITY HALL, RM-200, OFFICE #4 + 121 NORTH LASALLE STREET, CHICAGO IL 60602 PHONE: 312-744-3075 • FAX: 312-744-5007

## COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES AND RULES MONTHLY RULE 45 REPORT JANUARY, 2022

Pursuant to Rule 45 of the City Council Rules of Order, the Committee on Committees and Rules submits the following Monthly Rule 45 Report for <u>January, 2022</u>.

There were several Public Hearing dates for the City of Chicago's 2021 Redistricting Process (No votes were taken):

Friday, January 7 2022, 11:00 a.m.

There were 6 public speakers: Georgette Fross Nancy Plax Levi Todd Steve Burrows William Dosworth Pat McCarthy

There was written testimony which was sent via email to committee members:

There was dialogue re: a letter from Alderman Tabares (Vice-Chair Latino Caucus to Chairman Harris):

Alderman Beale Alderman Sadlowski-Garza Alderman LaSpata Alderman Vazquez Alderman Thompson Alderman Sposato Alderman Waguespack Alderman Tabares Alderman Tabares Alderman Smith Alderman Ramirez-Rosa Alderman Ramirez-Rosa Alderman Hadden Alderman Ervin Alderman Lopez Alderman Cardenas Alderman Austin

Meeting was moved to adjourn by Alderman Ervin-meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8), La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Beale (9), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11), Cardenas (12), Quinn (13), Burke (14), Lopez (15), Coleman (16), Moore (17), Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Taylor (20), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Carona (31), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Austin (34), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Smith (43), Tunney (44), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Osterman (48), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Mitchell (7), Curtis (18), Brookins (21), Scott (24), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41) and Reilly (42).

### Tuesday, January 11, 2022, 1:00 p.m.:

There were 5 public speakers: LeeAnn Costes Tom Russell Christopher Martin Jack Byrnes Angela Lobo

There was written testimony submitted and sent via email to committee members.

Several Aldermen voiced concern regarding meeting in person for the 1/21/2022 (last meeting):

Alderman Lopez – in person Alderman Hairston – virtual Alderman Mitts – virtual Alderman Ervin – virtual Alderman Osterman – mentioned at discretion of the chair Alderman Vasquez – in person

Alderman Smith and Alderman Brookins moved for adjournment---meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8); La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Mitchell (7), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11), Quinn (13), Lopez (15); Coleman (16); Moore (17); Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Brookins (21), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Scott (24), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Cardona (31), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33),, Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41), Smith (43), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Osterman (48), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Cardenas (12); Burke (14); Curtis (18); Taylor (20); Maldonado (26); Austin (34); Reilly (42) and Tunney (44).

# Thursday, January 13, 2022, 10:00 a.m.:

There were public 4 public speakers: Gloria Williams John Casey Craig Kaiser Alderman James Balcer

There was no written testimony.

Alderman Lopez asked about in person meeting for 1/21/22. Chairman Harris advised the committee to email preference.

Vice-Chairman O'Shea moved for adjournment-meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8), La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Mitchell (7), Beale (9), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11) Quinn (13), Burke (14), Lopez (15), Coleman (16), Curtis (18), Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Brookins (21), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27),

Ervin (28), Reboyras (30), Cardona (31), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41), Reilly (42), Smith (43), Tunney (44), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Cardenas (12), Moore (17), Taylor (20), Scott (24), Taliaferro (29), Austin (34), Vasquez (40), and Osterman (48).

## Friday, January 21, 2022, 10:00 a.m.:

## There were 11 public speakers:

Kate Eakin Dilara Sayeed Essam Maan not present Shobana Verman Dennis Monvero Miguel Bautista not present Joann Henton not present Michael Woods not present Erniset Wong Richard Lo Simon Shui

There was written testimony which was sent via email to committee members:

## There were presentations and questions answered by presenters:

Burt Odelson Homero Tristan Professor Allan Lichtman Mike Kasper

#### Various Alderman made comments and asked questions:

Vice Chairman Villegas Alderman Tabares Alderman Ervin Alderman Hairston Alderman Lopez Chairman Harris Alderman Harris Alderman Sposato Alderman Cardenas Alderman Maldonado Alderman La Spata Alderman Smith Alderman Scott

Alderman Ervin moved for adjournment—meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8), La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Mitchell (7), Beale (9), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11, Cardenas (12), Quinn (13), Burke (14), Lopez (15), Coleman (16), Moore (17), Curtis (18), Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Taylor (20), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Scott (24), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Cardona (31), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Austin (34), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41), Reilly (42), Smith (43), Tunney (44), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Brookins (21).

Respectfully Submitted by:

•

mihille attarris

•

•

Michelle A. Harris, Chairman Committee on Committees and Rules