

CITY OF CHICAGO

MICHELLE A. HARRIS, ALDERMAN, 8TH WARD
CHAIRMAN-COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES AND RULES
CITY HALL, RM-200, OFFICE #4 • 121 NORTH LASALLE STREET, CHICAGO IL 60602
PHONE: 312-744-3075 • FAX: 312-744-5007

COMMITTEE ON COMMITTEES AND RULES MONTHLY RULE 45 REPORT DECEMBER, 2021

Pursuant to Rule 45 of the City Council Rules of Order, the Committee on Committees and Rules submits the following Monthly Rule 45 Report for December, 2021.

There were several Public Hearing dates for the City of Chicago's 2021 Redistricting Process (No votes were taken):

Tuesday, December 7, 2021 - 3:00 p.m.:

There were 6 public speakers:

Rev. Jeanette Wilson Bruce Anderson Beverly Sigeo Rabi Levy Jose Lopez Maurice Edwards

There was written testimony which was sent via email to committee members:

Anne Schaeffer presented the Rules Committee map as well as the Coalition Map. Several Aldermen made comments and asked questions:

Alderman Beale
Alderman Sadlowski-Garza
Alderman LaSpata
Alderman Vazquez
Alderman Maldonado
Alderman Mitts
Alderman Tabares

Meeting was moved to adjourn by Alderman Thompson—meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8), La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Mitchell (7), Beale (9), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11), Cardenas (12), Quinn (13), Lopez (15), Coleman (16), Moore (17), Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Taylor (20), Brookins (21), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Austin (34), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Vice Chairman Napolitano (41), Smith (43), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Osterman (48), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Burke (14), Scott (24), Cardona (31), Reilly (42) and Tunney (44).

Friday, December 10, 2021 - 1:00 p.m.:

Vice-Chairman O'shea chaired this meeting in the absence of Chairman Harris.

There were 19 public speakers:

Natasha Brown

Catherine Vargas

C.W. Chan

Shannon Glass

Vern Broders

Gloria Williams

Randall Blakey

Miguel Bautista

Sam Clendenning

Jane King

Phyllis Logan

John Lutz

Mark McInerney

John Clemens

Joseph Simental

Adam Campbell

Michelle Jenkins

Robert Debonnett

Jesse Johnson

There was written testimony submitted and sent via email to committee members.

Anne Schaffer presented the process of drawing a map again and gave dates of hearings to follow:

January 6, 2022

January 11, 2022

January 13, 2022

January 21, 2022

Alderman Ervin moved for adjournment---meeting was adjourned.

The following members present were: La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Mitchell (7),), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11), Quinn (13), Burke (14); Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Taylor (20), Brookins (21), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Scott (24), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Austin (34), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Reilly (42), Smith (43), Gardiner (45), Cappleman (46), Martin (47), Osterman (48), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Chairman Harris (8); Beale (9); Cardenas (12); Lopez (15); Coleman (16); Moore (17); Cardona (31), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41) and Tunney (44).

Tuesday, December 14, 2021 – 4:00 p.m.:

There were 5 items on the agenda:

Item 1: the approval of the October 2021 and November 2021 monthly Rule 45 report for the Committee on Committees and Rules—Alderman Vasquez moved to approve the report—motion passed.

Item 2: (O2021-4550) correction of the City Council Journal of Proceedings of September 14, 2021 – Alderman Dowell moved to recommend the approval—motion passed

Item 3: (O2021-4939) correction of the City of Council Journal of Proceedings of October 14, 2021 – Alderman Villegas moved to recommend the approval—motion passed

Item 4: (R2021-1301) a resolution on commission a feasibility study regarding the City of Chicago purchasing the Chicago Bears franchise—the appropriate committee recommended for re-referral is the Committee on Finance—Alderman Waguespack moved to recommend this resolutions re-referral to Committee on Finance—motion passed. Alderman Lopez questioned the sponsorship of this resolution.

Item 5: (A2021-172) the appointment of Andrea Kersten as Chief Administrator of the Civilian Office of Police Accountability—the appropriate committee recommended for re-referral is the Committee on Public Safety—Alderman Taliafero moved to recommend this resolutions re-referral to Committee on Public Safety—motion passed by Roll Call Vote:

Yes:
LaSpata
Dowell
King
Hairston
Sawyer
Harris
Sadlowski G

Sadlowski Garza Thompson Cardenas Coleman Moore Rodriguez Sigcho-Lopez

Maldonado
Burnett
Ervin
Taliaferro
Waguespack

Rodriguuez-Sanchez

Ramirez-Rosa

Mitts Vasquez

Smith

Tunney

Martin

Hadden

No:

Hopkins Beale Quinn Lopez O'Shea Tabares

Reboyras Cardona Sposato Nugent Reilly

Gardiner Silverstein

Alderman Beale asked question to Law Department re: Rule 41 held in committee.

The following members present were: Chairman Harris (8), La Spata (1), Hopkins (2), Dowell (3), King (4), Hairston (5), Sawyer (6), Beale (9), Sadlowski-Garza (10), Thompson (11), Cardenas (12), Quinn (13), Lopez (15), Coleman (16), Moore (17), Vice-Chairman O'Shea (19), Rodriguez (22), Tabares (23), Sigcho-Lopez (25), Maldonado (26), Burnett (27), Ervin (28), Taliaferro (29), Reboyras (30), Cardona (31), Waguespack (32), Rodriguez-Sanchez (33), Ramirez-Rosa (35), Vice-Chairman Villegas (36), Mitts (37), Sposato (38), Nugent (39), Vasquez (40), Reilly (42), Smith (43), Tunney (44), Gardiner (45), Martin (47), Hadden (49) and Silverstein (50).

The following members absent were: Mitchell (7), Burke (14), Curtis (18), Taylor (20), Brookins (21), Scott (24), Austin (34), Vice-Chairman Napolitano (41), Cappleman (46), and Osterman (48).

Respectfully Submitted by:

Michelle A. Harris, Chairman Committee on Committees and Rules